The World Summit Youth Award (WSYA) is a unique global contest which brings together young developers and digital entrepreneurs - under 30 years of age - who use internet and mobile technology to put the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) into action and make a difference.

The WSYA selects and promotes best practice in e-Content. It demonstrates young people's potential to create outstanding digital contents and serves as a platform for people from all UN and UNESCO member states to work together in the efforts to reach the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

How to participate?

Young creators of digital content are able to register their products themselves via an online platform. An international young expert jury will then judge the projects/products and select 3 winners and 2 runners-up in each of the six WSYA categories.



  1. Fight Poverty, Hunger and Disease!
  2. Education for All!
  3. Power 2 Women!
  4. Create your Culture!
  5. Go Green!
  6. Pursue Truth!


What can you win? - Winners' Event 2014

WSYA winners have the unique opportunity to be part of an international high-energy networking event.

In 2013, the winners' event took place in Colombo, Sri Lanka, from the 24th-26th of October. Hosted by the Sri Lankan Information and Communication Technology Agency (ICTA) and in partnership with the World Summit Award (WSA), this 3-days event featured keynote speeches, workshops and engaging panel discussions.

At the winners' event all WSYA winners have the opportunity to present their projects on a world stage, exchange ideas with their peers and network with renowned experts in the field of ICT for development. Winning the WSYA allows young social entrepreneurs to become part of an international network of young dynamic people, leaders of the ICT industry, academics, govermental organisations and members of the civil society.

Please note, that the Youth Award is not a cash award. In 2015 the WSYA Winners Festival will take place in Sao Paulo, Brazil, from 15th - 17th June! Don't miss the chance to be part of it!

Who is organising the Award?
The WSYA is organised as a follow up activity of the World Summit on Information Society and its action plan towards the year 2015. The Youth Award is being organised by the World Summit Award Network for the seventh time after 2005, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. It is promoted in all UN and UNESCO member states through the networks of the World Summit Award (WSA) the UN Global Alliance for ICT, other participating UN Organisations and Agencies such as UNESCO and UNIDO, governments and NGOs, youth organisations, and all those committed to making a real difference in the achievement of the MDGs.

The WSYA Team is based at the International Centre for New Media (ICNM), an independent non-profit organisation in Salzburg, Austria